image (4)

Since this is my first post, I’ll start with the basics.  I’m 25 years old and eloped with my husband about 2 months ago.  I’m working on several things at once, one of which is my finances.  The others include running, finishing my degree, looking for my next career move to move back home, and in general, just finding my place in the world.  I’m 25 and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  And here I am, married, two pets, living in our apartment in suburban Chicago, getting paid salary.  It’s hard because I want more for myself, but I still don’t know what that means.  The dog you see in the photo above, is my dog, Davie.  It amazes me how pure of a soul he is.  I wish everyday, instead of having to pack up and head into my office to work, I could bring him with me or work from home.  We spend thousands of dollars on these creatures and then are given no time to spend with them.

I also try walking him every day.  Yesterday was a fail since it was raining all day.  Let me explain something to you about marriage.  No one tells you it’s going to be like this.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my husband to death.  We’re best friends and so much more.  But he’s a man-child at times.  He can’t handle grocery shopping on a budget!  We took all this time to sit down and set up this budget for no reason at all, I guess, because he said to me, “we need more food than that, so we’re going to have to go over budget”.  Now repeat that sentence in the dumbest, most condescending voice you have and you’ll hear it the way I did in my head just now.

As you can tell, I’m a bitch.  It’s not something I try to cover up, it’s just how I’ve always been.

